1. EN
  2. FR
  3. ES


Keystone Pipeline System


The Montana portion of the Keystone XL route consists of approximately 285 miles (459 km) of pipeline, starting in Phillips County on the U.S./Canadian border and extending into the southeast corner of Fallon County. Overall, the pipeline crosses six counties: Phillips, Valley, McCone, Dawson, Prairie and Fallon.

There will be six pump stations in Montana located in Phillips, Valley, McCone (two), Prairie and Fallon.

The Montana Department of Environmental Quality issued Keystone XL a Certificate of Compliance on April 2, 2012, under the Montana Major Facilities Siting Act.

We anticipate a peak workforce of over 4,000 jobs during construction across the right-of-way in Montana.

Montanans will benefit from the economic impact generated by the construction of Keystone XL, which will create 4,000 jobs in Montana. The millions spent on housing and services throughout the construction period will help support local businesses in the state, while the taxes paid on those goods services will provide a boost to state and local tax coffers.

Counties also will collect millions in property tax revenue after the pipeline goes into operation.