1. EN
  2. FR
  3. ES


Keystone Pipeline System


The Nebraska portion of Keystone XL consists of approximately 280 miles (451 km) of pipeline, starting at the Nebraska/South Dakota border in Keya Paha County and extending to Steele City in Jefferson County. Overall, the pipeline crosses 12 counties: Keya Paha, Boyd, Holt, Antelope, Madison, Stanton, Platte, Colfax, Butler, Seward, Saline and Jefferson.

There will be six pump stations located in Nebraska: Holt, Antelope, Colfax, Butler, Seward and Jefferson counties.

The Nebraska Public Service Commission issued Keystone XL a permit on Nov. 20, 2017. The Nebraska Supreme Court upheld the commission’s decision in a unanimous ruling issued on Aug. 23, 2019.

Nebraskans will benefit from the economic impact generated by the construction of Keystone XL, which will create  2,700 jobs in the Nebraska. The millions spent on housing and services throughout the construction period will help support local businesses in the state, while the taxes paid on those goods services will provide a boost to state and local tax coffers.

Counties also will collect millions in property tax revenue after the pipeline goes into operation.