1. EN
  2. FR
  3. ES

South Dakota

Keystone Pipeline System

South Dakota

The South Dakota portion of Keystone XL consists of approximately 316 miles (508 km) of pipeline, starting at the Montana/South Dakota border in northwest Harding County and extending to the Nebraska/South Dakota border in Tripp County. Overall, the pipeline crosses nine counties: Harding, Butte, Perkins, Meade, Pennington, Haakon, Jones, Lyman and Tripp.

There will be seven pump stations in South Dakota: Harding (two), Meade Haakon, Jones and Tripp(two) counties.

The South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (PUC) approved Keystone XL’s route in 2010 and recertified that approval in 2016. The PUC found Keystone XL will be built and operated safely and with care for the environment while offering the state considerable economic benefits. In January 2020, the South Dakota Water Management Board approved five water permits for Keystone XL, to be used during construction.

South Dakotans will benefit from the economic impact generated by the construction of Keystone XL, which will create 3,500 jobs in South Dakota. The millions spent on housing and services throughout the construction period will help support local businesses in the state, while the taxes paid on those goods services will provide a boost to state and local tax coffers.

Counties also will collect millions in property tax revenue after the pipeline goes into operation.



In your community

Helping Philip, S.D., build safer sidewalks

As part of our commitment to safety, the Keystone XL project team identified this initiative as a community investment that aligned directly with our number-one core value — Safety.

Read the story.